• * The center of assisted medical procreation of the CHU St Pierre is specialised in reproductive medicine. Reference center: quality label ISO 9001 obtained in 2008 and accredited by the AFMPS (Agence Fédérale des Médicaments et Produits de Santé).

Ovulation monitoring consists of monitoring the menstrual cycle up until ovulation by carrying out blood tests and endovaginal ultrasound scans. This enables couples to plan sexual intercourse.

 

Ovulation monitoring

Traitements-1b

 

It can be combined with ovarian stimulation.

The aim of ovarian stimulation is to ensure the growth of one or more follicles until the stage of a mature follicle containing a fertilizable oocyte is reached.

How this is achieved depends on the etiology of the infertility: 

  • clomiphene citrate (Clomid®): an anti-oestrogen which acts on the hypothalamic receptors by inducing a release of LHRH which causes an increase in the gonadotropins required to initiate follicular development. This medication is administered orally for 5 days at the beginning of the follicular phase.
  • gonadotropins (Menopur®, Puregon®, GonalF®): hormones of hypophysary origin that are injected subcutaneously. These molecules stimulate the ovaries directly to induce follicular growth and are used if treatment by Clomid® has failed or in case of contraindications.

The cycle is monitored by vaginal ultrasound scans, which usually begin on the 12th day of the cycle, and by measuring hormone levels (oestradiol, LH, progesterone). This allows correct follicular growth to be monitored, and in the case of stimulated cycles, the development of a maximum of 3 follicles in order to avoid the risk of ovarian hyperstimulation and multiple pregnancies.

Monitoring continues until the follicle(s) is(are) mature.

At this point, ovulation may occur naturally (LH peak) or be triggered by an injection of human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG=Pregnyl®) or recombinant choriogonadotropin alpha (Ovitrelle®). Intercourse can be planned accordingly.

 

 

Plan du site CHU Saint Pierre - Bâtiment 200, 5è étage . Département de Gynécologie-Obstétrique

Centre de Fécondation In vitro - 322, Rue Haute - Bruxelles Tel +32(0)2 535 3406 Fax +32(0)2 535 3409

• * Le centre de Procréation Médicalement Assistée du Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Saint-Pierre est spécialisé dans la médecine de la reproduction. Centre de référence ayant obtenu le label ISO 9001 :2008 et étant accrédité auprès de l’AFMPS (Agence Fédérale des Médicaments et Produits de Santé).

Le monitoring ovulatoire consiste à surveiller le cycle menstruel jusqu’à l’ovulation par des prises de sang et des échographies endovaginales. Il permet de programmer les rapports sexuels.

 

Le monitoring ovulatoire

Traitements-1b

 

Il peut être associé à une stimulation ovarienne.

Le but de la stimulation ovarienne est d’assurer la croissance d’un ou de plusieurs follicule(s) jusqu’au stade du follicule mature contenant un ovocyte fécondable.

Elle peut être réalisée selon l’étiologie de l’infertilité par :

  • du citrate de clomiphène (Clomid®) : un anti-œstrogène qui agit au niveau des récepteurs hypothalamiques en induisant une décharge de LHRH qui provoque une augmentation des gonadotrophines nécessaires pour initier le développement folliculaire. Ce médicament est administré par voie orale pendant 5 jours au début de la phase folliculaire ;
  • des Gonadotrophines (Ménopur®, Puregon®, GonalF®,) : hormones d’origine hypophysaire qui sont administrées par injections sous-cutanées. Ces molécules stimulent directement les ovaires pour induire une croissance folliculaire et sont utilisées s’il y a eu échecs ou contre-indications au traitement par Clomid® ;

Le suivi du cycle se fait par échographie vaginale, habituellement à partir du 12ème jour du cycle et par la réalisation de dosages hormonaux (œstradiol, LH, progestérone). Ceci permet de contrôler la croissance folliculaire correcte et, dans le cas de cycles stimulés, le développement de maximum 3 follicules afin d’éviter le risque d’hyperstimulation ovarienne et de grossesses multiples.

Le suivi est réalisé jusqu’à ce que le(s) follicule(s) soi(en)t mature(s).

A ce moment, l’ovulation peut survenir naturellement (pic de LH) ou être déclenchée par une injection de gonadotrophine chorionique humaine (hCG=Pregnyl®) ou de choriogonadotrophine alpha recombinante (Ovitrelle®). Les rapports seront programmés en conséquence.

 

Plan du site CHU Saint Pierre - Bâtiment 200, 5è étage . Département de Gynécologie-Obstétrique

Centre de Fécondation In vitro - 322, Rue Haute - Bruxelles Tel +32(0)2 535 3406 Fax +32(0)2 535 3409