• * The center of assisted medical procreation of the CHU St Pierre is specialised in reproductive medicine. Reference center: quality label ISO 9001 obtained in 2008 and accredited by the AFMPS (Agence Fédérale des Médicaments et Produits de Santé).

Care for our sperm donors

Become a sperm donor

The AR centre at the Saint-Pierre University Hospital is always looking for donors. If you feel you have the generosity of spirit to help couples or women who need this contribution to realise their dream of having a child, please get in touch with us.

 

Over the past few years,Belgiumhas faced a severe shortage of sperm donors which means that at the moment, the offer is much lower than the demand. Currently, many assisted reproduction centres have to use foreign sperm banks in order to help their patients.

 

In Belgium, the law states that sperm donation must be voluntary and anonymous. Nevertheless, non anonymous sperm donation is authorised inBelgium but it must be the subject of a direct agreement between the donor and the receiving party. In this case, the donor will also see the psychologist in order to discuss the particularities of this approach.

 

The potential sperm donor attends a consultation with the AR centre’s chief physician.

After having explained the terms particular to sperm donation, the doctor will perform an in-depth anamnesis and laboratory tests to check whether the potential donor meets the selection criteria (cf. below).

 

If the potential donor meets the selection criteria, he is allocated a number (in order to ensure his anonymity). His physical characteristics as well as his blood group are recorded with a view to matching the donor with a receiving party in the future.

The donor will then sign the agreement and the informed consent form relating to sperm donation.

 

The donor is then asked to bring a sperm donation to the andrology laboratory, with a maximum of two donations a month. The sperm is frozen in the laboratory in straws that will be kept in liquid nitrogen tanks at –196 °C.

 

The straws will only be used after the donor has been checked for infectious serologies (hepatitis B, C, HIV and syphilis), six months after the donation (180 days). This is referred to as the quarantine period.

 

This donation is free (legal obligation) although “loss of revenue” and travel costs will be covered after each donation.

 

To limit the risks of consanguinity, the law states that a donor can’t be responsible for more than six “families”.

 

The centre assures the donor, when the donation is anonymous, that any identification data will be made inaccessible.

 

 

Sperm donor selection criteria

  • Men aged between 18 to 45 years old.
  • Never been a sperm donor.
  • No sexually transmissible diseases on the basis of a blood test (hepatitis B and C, HIV, syphilis, HTLV-I , chlamydia) and a urine analysis (PCR test for chlamydia)
  • No genetically transmissible hereditary diseases based on a complete family case history
  • No genetically transmissible personal diseases based on a medical case history and a blood test (karyotype, cystic fibrosis, sickle-cell disease, thalassemia, Tay Sachs, etc.)
  • No “at-risk” sexual habits or lifestyle 
  • No potentially mutagenic medication taken and no growth hormones or hypophysary hormones of human origin taken before 1989 (cf. Creutzfeld-Jacob)
  • No risks associated with travel (Creutzfeld-Jacob, HTLV-1, Q fever, West Nile Virus, etc.)
  • A normal spermocytogram
  • Sample tested for resistance to freezing-thawing techniques

 

 

Plan du site CHU Saint Pierre - Bâtiment 200, 5è étage . Département de Gynécologie-Obstétrique

Centre de Fécondation In vitro - 322, Rue Haute - Bruxelles Tel +32(0)2 535 3406 Fax +32(0)2 535 3409

• * Le centre de Procréation Médicalement Assistée du Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Saint-Pierre est spécialisé dans la médecine de la reproduction. Centre de référence ayant obtenu le label ISO 9001 :2008 et étant accrédité auprès de l’AFMPS (Agence Fédérale des Médicaments et Produits de Santé).

Prise en charge de nos donneurs de sperme

Devenez donneur de sperme

Le centre de PMA du CHU Saint­-Pierre est en recherche constante de donneurs. Si vous vous sentez l’âme généreuse d’aider des couples ou des femmes qui ont besoin de cet apport pour pouvoir concrétiser leur rêve d’enfant, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter.

 

Depuis plusieurs années, la Belgique fait face à une pénurie très importante de donneurs de sperme qui fait, qu’aujourd’hui, l’offre est nettement inférieure à la demande. Actuellement de nombreux centres de procréation médicalement assistée doivent faire appel à des banques de sperme étrangères afin de pouvoir aider leurs patients.

 

En Belgique, la loi prévoit que le don de sperme soit volontaire et anonyme. Néanmoins, le don non anonyme est autorisé en Belgique mais doit faire l’objet d’un accord direct entre le donneur et le couple receveur. Dans ce cas, le donneur sera également reçu par la psychologue afin d’aborder les aspects particuliers de cette démarche.

 

Le candidat au don de sperme anonyme est reçu en consultation par le médecin responsable du centre de PMA.
Après lui avoir expliqué les modalités propres au don de sperme, le médecin vérifiera par une anamnèse approfondie et des examens de laboratoire que le candidat donneur répond aux critères de sélection (cf ci-dessous)

 

Si le candidat répond aux critères de sélection, un numéro lui est attribué (de manière à assurer son anonymat). Ses caractéristiques physiques ainsi que son groupe sanguin sont notés en vue de l’appariement ultérieur du donneur aux couples receveurs.
Le donneur va alors signer la convention et le consentement éclairé relatif au don de sperme.


Le donneur est ensuite invité à venir faire un don de sperme au laboratoire d’andrologie avec une fréquence maximale de 2 dons par mois. Le sperme est congelé au laboratoire dans des paillettes qui seront conservées dans des cuves d’azote liquide à - 196 °C.
Les paillettes ne seront utilisées qu’après contrôle des sérologies infectieuses du donneur (hépatite B, C, HIV et syphilis), six mois après le don (180 jours). On parle de période de quarantaine.

 

Ce don est gratuit (obligation légale) mais une compensation pour la « perte de revenus » et les frais de déplacement est prévue après chaque don.

 

Pour limiter les risques de consanguinité, la loi prévoit qu’un donneur ne peut être à l’origine de plus de six « familles ».

Le centre assure au donneur, lorsqu’il s’agit d’un programme de don anonyme, que toute donnée identifiante sera rendue inaccessible.

 

 

 

Critères de sélection des donneurs de sperme

  • Hommes âgés de 18 à 45 ans.
  • N'avoir jamais été donneur de sperme.
  • Absence de maladies infectieuses sexuellement transmissibles sur la base d’une prise de sang (hépatites B et C, HIV, syphilis, HTLV-I , chlamydia) et d’une analyse d’urines (recherche de chlamydia par PCR).
  • Absence de maladies familiales génétiquement transmissibles sur la base d’une anamnèse familiale.
  • Absence de maladies personnelles génétiquement transmissibles sur la base d’une anamnèse médicale et d’une prise de sang (caryotype, mucoviscidose, drépanocytose, thalassémie, Tay Sachs,…).
  • Absence d’habitudes sexuelles ou de modes de vie dits « à risque ».
  • Absence de prise de médicaments potentiellement mutagènes et absence de prise d’hormone de croissance ou hypophysaire d’origine humaine avant 1989 (Cf Creutzfeld-Jacob).
  • Absence de risques liés aux voyages (Creutzfeld-Jacob, HTLV-1, fièvre Q, West Nile Virus,…).
  • Spermocytogramme dans les limites de la normale.
  • Test de résistance de l’échantillon aux techniques de congélation-décongélation.
 

Plan du site CHU Saint Pierre - Bâtiment 200, 5è étage . Département de Gynécologie-Obstétrique

Centre de Fécondation In vitro - 322, Rue Haute - Bruxelles Tel +32(0)2 535 3406 Fax +32(0)2 535 3409