• * The center of assisted medical procreation of the CHU St Pierre is specialised in reproductive medicine. Reference center: quality label ISO 9001 obtained in 2008 and accredited by the AFMPS (Agence Fédérale des Médicaments et Produits de Santé).

Complications

Severe complications following in vitro fertilization are infrequent (about 2 %) but they need to be correctly diagnosed and taken care of in order to minimise the risk of after-effects.

 

1- Complications associated with ovarian stimulation:

  • Discomfort associated with stimulation: at the end of stimulation, there may be abdominal discomfort linked to the size of the ovaries
  • Ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome (“OHSS”): this is a complication whereby the stimulation of the ovaries escapes control and causes a pathological increase in hormone levels and abnormal vascular permeability. This results in 2 concomitant phenomena: fluid escaping into virtual cavities such as the abdomen (ascites), the pleura (pleural effusion), the lungs (oedema) and rarely the pericardium, and at the same time, an increase in blood viscosity with a risk of thrombosis.
    This syndrome has several degrees of severity.
    In general, it is a benign infection that resolves spontaneously and is treated with rest, verification of fluid intake with blood tests and ultrasound scans, and possibly treatment with anticoagulants.
    In more serious cases, hospitalisation is suggested for closer monitoring. It may be necessary to remove fluid that has accumulated in the abdomen. Rare severe cases require monitoring in the intensive care unit.
  • Ovarian torsion (0.1 to 0.8%): the stimulated ovaries increase from 3 to 10 times their size. Because of their weight, they can turn on their vascular axes and stop the blood flow. The risk is correlated to the volume of the ovaries (more frequent in OHSS) and can occur well after oocyte retrieval (4-11 weeks). It is a painful complication that often occurs suddenly, accompanied by nausea and vomiting. Surgery (laparoscopic detorsion) is the preferred treatment.

 

2- Complications associated with oocyte retrieval:

  • Bleeding: vaginal and abdominal blood loss is common after oocyte retrieval. In rare cases, blood loss is abnormally abundant and may require specific treatment: a stitch in the vagina or in case of uncontrolled abdominal bleeding, a surgical intervention to ensure haemostasis.
  • Infection: the fine hollow needle passed through the vagina can carry germs into the abdominal cavity. This can lead to an infection which is most often accompanied by a temperature and pelvic pain. If it is diagnosed in time, the infection can be treated easily with antibiotics.
  • Damage to the pelvic organs: the vaginal approach to oocyte retrieval can cause injury to the digestive system or to the urinary tract. These complications occur very rarely (0.04 %).

 

3- Complications associated with early pregnancy: 

  • Ectopic pregnancy (2 to 11%): even though the embryo(s) has(have) been correctly deposited in the uterine cavity, it(they) can sometimes adhere to the fallopian tubes and embed itself(themselves) there. This complication occurs more frequently in cases of abnormal fallopian tubes.
  • Heterotopic pregnancy (0.75 to 1 %): this is a very rare complication whereby one of the embryos embeds itself in the uterus and the other in the fallopian tube.
  • Multiple pregnancies: inBelgium, the legal limit of the number of embryos that can be transferred has reduced the rate of twins to 11 % (rate >25 % before legal limit) and triplets to less than 1 %. Although they are often welcomed by infertile couples, multiple pregnancies are a real risk factor for the pregnancy itself and the health of the future children. In the case of twins, half the births are premature and the children are 4 times more likely to have to stay in a neonatal clinic.


 

 

 

Plan du site CHU Saint Pierre - Bâtiment 200, 5è étage . Département de Gynécologie-Obstétrique

Centre de Fécondation In vitro - 322, Rue Haute - Bruxelles Tel +32(0)2 535 3406 Fax +32(0)2 535 3409

• * Le centre de Procréation Médicalement Assistée du Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Saint-Pierre est spécialisé dans la médecine de la reproduction. Centre de référence ayant obtenu le label ISO 9001 :2008 et étant accrédité auprès de l’AFMPS (Agence Fédérale des Médicaments et Produits de Santé).

Les complications

Les complications sévères de la fécondation in vitro sont peu fréquentes (environ 2 %) mais nécessitent d’être correctement diagnostiquées et prises en charge afin de minimiser le risque de séquelles.

 

 

1- Complications liées à la stimulation ovarienne :

  • Inconfort lié à la stimulation : en fin de stimulation, un inconfort abdominal lié à la taille des ovaires peut être ressenti ;
  • Syndrome d’hyperstimulation ovarienne (« OHSS ») : il s’agit d’une complication dans laquelle la stimulation des ovaires échappe au contrôle et induit une augmentation pathologique des taux hormonaux et des anomalies de la perméabilité vasculaire. Il en résulte 2 phénomènes concomittants : une fuite de liquide dans des cavités virtuelles comme l'abdomen (ascite) les plèvres (épanchement pleural), les poumons (oedème) et rarement le péricarde et dans le même temps l'accroissement de la viscosité du sang avec risque de thromboses.
    Il y a plusieurs degrés de gravité à ce syndrome.
    En général c'est une affection bénigne de résolution spontanée qui se traite par le repos, un contrôle de l'apport hydrique avec un suivi sanguin et échographique et éventuellement un traitement anticoagulant.
    Dans les cas plus sévères, une hospitalisation est proposée pour une surveillance plus rapprochée. Des ponctions de liquides collectés dans l'abdomen peuvent s'avérer nécessaires. De rares cas graves nécessitent une surveillance en soins intensifs ;
  • Torsion annexielle (0,1 à 0,8%) : les ovaires stimulés augmentent de 3 à 10 fois de taille. Sous leur poids, ceux-ci peuvent tourner sur leurs axes vasculaires et interrompre le flux sanguin. Le risque est corrélé au volume ovarien (plus fréquent dans les OHSS). Cela peut survenir tardivement après le prélèvement ovocytaire (4-11 semaine). Il s’agit d’une complication d'apparition souvent brutale, douloureuse, accompagnée de nausées et vomissements. L'intervention chirurgicale (détorsion par la paroscopie) est le traitement de choix.

 

2- Complications liées à la ponction d’ovocytes :

  • hémorragie : des pertes de sang vaginales et abdominales sont habituelles lors de la ponction d’ovocytes. Dans de rares cas, les pertes de sang sont anormalement abondantes et peuvent nécessiter un traitement particulier : pose d’un point de suture au niveau vaginal ou, en cas de saignement abdominal non contrôlé, intervention chirurgicale pour assurer l’hémostase ;
  • infection : le passage de l’aiguille de ponction par le vagin peut entraîner des germes dans la cavité abdominale. Cela peut amener à une infection se manifestant le plus souvent par de la température et des douleurs pelviennes. Lorsqu’elle est diagnostiquée à temps, l’infection se traite assez facilement par une antibiothérapie ;
  • lésion des organes pelviens : l’approche vaginale lors de la ponction des ovocytes peut entraîner des lésions digestives ou des voies urinaires. Il s’agit de complications très rares (0,04 %).

 

3- Complications liées à la grossesse précoce :

  • grossesse extra-utérine (2 à 11%) : bien que déposé(s) dans la cavité utérine, l’(les) embryon(s) va(vont) parfois migrer dans les trompes et s’y implanter. Cette complication survient plus fréquemment en cas d’anomalies des trompes ;
  • grossesse hétérotopique (0,75 à 1 %) : il s’agit d’une complication très rare dans laquelle un des embryons s’implante dans l’utérus et l’autre dans la trompe ;
  • grossesse multiple : en Belgique, la limitation légale du nombre d’embryons à transférer a réduit les taux de grossesse gémellaire à 11 % (taux >25 % avant limitation légale) et de grossesse triple à moins de 1 %. Bien qu’étant le plus souvent très bien acceptée par les couples infertiles, les grossesses multiples représentent un véritable facteur de risque pour le déroulement de la grossesse et la santé des futurs enfants. Dans la grossesse gémellaire, la moitié des accouchements seront prématurés et les enfants ont 4 fois plus de risque de séjourner en centre néonatal.

 

 

Plan du site CHU Saint Pierre - Bâtiment 200, 5è étage . Département de Gynécologie-Obstétrique

Centre de Fécondation In vitro - 322, Rue Haute - Bruxelles Tel +32(0)2 535 3406 Fax +32(0)2 535 3409