• * The center of assisted medical procreation of the CHU St Pierre is specialised in reproductive medicine. Reference center: quality label ISO 9001 obtained in 2008 and accredited by the AFMPS (Agence Fédérale des Médicaments et Produits de Santé).

The Assisted Reproduction Centre at Saint-Pierre University Hospital specialises in reproductive medicine. It was founded in 1983 and is recognised as a category B centre in reproductive medicine, i.e. it can carry out the entire range of techniques and processes associated with assisted reproduction (AR). We were awarded the ISO 9001 quality label several years ago and we are approved by the Federal Agency for Medicines and Health Products (FAMHP).

 

History

The In Vitro Fertilization Centre at Saint-PierreUniversityHospitalwas founded in 1981 by Professor F. Leroy with the assistance of Dr. M. Camus. Attached to the Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB), the centre was the first French-speaking university centre at the time. The IVF activity rapidly took off with the birth of the first “test-tube baby” in November 1983.

 

The scientific activity carried out here was supported by ULB. The IVF centre was and still is a research laboratory, and was initially dedicated solely to advances in assisted reproduction. It then expanded and was acknowledged as a more global laboratory in “gynaecology and research into reproductive medicine”.

 

In the 1990s, the sperm bank and intrauterine insemination in general were integrated into the activities of the IVF centre, which then became the AR centre. The AR centre was reorganised in order to adopt a more multidisciplinary approach to fertility: the inclusion of the andrological side, in view of the expansion of IVF indications to include increasingly severe cases of male sterility, as well as surgery with the development of laparoscopy and mini-invasive surgical techniques. This was followed by the introduction of psychosocial support for couples undergoing treatment; this meant that as well as benefiting from the increasingly well-mastered technology, couples - and the suffering they experience - could finally be taken into account, not to mention the increasingly unconventional demands requiring the reflection of several parties. As regards this ethical aspect, the centre won ULB’s Bernaerts prize in 2000, awarded to a centre for the outstanding ethical quality of its teamwork.

The centre received its category B centre approval in 1998, thus legally becoming the centre of the Brussels Region public network. As the IRIS network centre of reference, consultations were consequently established at different sites (Ixelles, Bracops, Brugmann). The centre also decentralised its activity through collaborations inNamur and, in particular, Ath, which previously had no AR centre.

 

The centre invested in the latest data management system, thus storing all the digitized treatment data in a database and making it accessible online, to team members, on all the workstations particular to this multidisciplinary work to ensure the co-ordination and continuity of the treatment. 

 

In 1997, Professor A. Delvigne took over the management of the centre until 2007.

At the beginning of the 2000s, the centre opened its doors to patients with infectious diseases (HIV, hepatitis B and C) and organised specific care for them within a multidisciplinary team. This was a pioneering activity inBelgium and the centre remains a reference in this respect, as confirmed by its collaborations with numerous Belgian centres.

 

In 2003, the 20th anniversary of the birth of the first "test-tube" baby conceived at the centre was the subject of a public-awareness campaign, as well as professional conferences which brought together some 200 people.

Since September 2007, the centre has been managed by Dr. C. Autin.


The centre has 5 nurses, 5 embryologists and 2 secretaries. The andrology, infectiology and endocrinology sections are shared between 4 doctors who are assisted by 2 gynaecological surgeons for the care of their patients. One psychologist and a psychiatrist provide patient support before, during and after treatment.

 

On 2nd October 2008, the AR Centre was awarded the ISO 9001:2000 certificate of conformity. This approach, which the centre decided to adopt, has allowed us to implement a globally-recognised quality management system.

 

As a result of a new law, the AR centre has been registered with the FAMHP (Federal Agency for Medication and Health Products) as a human tissue bank since 1st December 2009. This approval is currently a legal obligation to be able to exercise reproductive medicine inBelgium.  


 

Plan du site CHU Saint Pierre - Bâtiment 200, 5è étage . Département de Gynécologie-Obstétrique

Centre de Fécondation In vitro - 322, Rue Haute - Bruxelles Tel +32(0)2 535 3406 Fax +32(0)2 535 3409

• * Le centre de Procréation Médicalement Assistée du Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Saint-Pierre est spécialisé dans la médecine de la reproduction. Centre de référence ayant obtenu le label ISO 9001 :2008 et étant accrédité auprès de l’AFMPS (Agence Fédérale des Médicaments et Produits de Santé).

Le Centre de Procréation Médicalement Assistée du CHU Saint-Pierre est spécialisé dans la médecine de la reproduction. Il a été fondé en 1983 et est reconnu comme centre de médecine de la reproduction classe B, c’est-à-dire pouvant effectuer la totalité des techniques et processus liés à la PMA. Au cours des dernières années, nous avons obtenu le label de qualité ISO 9001 et sommes à ce jour agréés au sein de l’Agence fédérale des médicaments et des produits de santé (AFMPS).

 

Historique

Le centre de fécondation in vitro du CHU Saint-Pierre à été créé en 1981 par le Pr F Leroy assisté par le Dr M Camus. Le centre attaché à l’Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) était à l’époque le premier centre universitaire francophone. L’activité de FIV a rapidement pris son essor dès la naissance du premier « bébé éprouvette » en novembre 1983.

 

L’activité scientifique qui y a été menée, a été soutenue par l’ULB dont le centre de FIV était et reste un laboratoire de recherche, d’abord voué uniquement aux avancées en procréation médicalement assistée et ensuite élargi et reconnu comme un laboratoire plus global de « gynécologie et de recherche en médecine génésique ».

 

Dans les années 90, la banque de sperme et la réalisation des inséminations intra-utérines en général, ont été intégrées dans les activités du centre de FIV devenant alors centre de PMA. Le centre de PMA s’est réorganisé dans une prise en charge plus multidisciplinaire de la fertilité, s’associant ainsi le volet andrologique vu l’élargissement des indications de FIV aux stérilités masculines de plus en plus sévères mais aussi le volet chirurgical avec le développement de la laparoscopie et des techniques chirurgicales mini-invasives. Par la suite, la prise en charge psychosociale a trouvé sa légitimité dans le soutien des couples en traitement, car au-delà de la technique de mieux en mieux maîtrisée, la souffrance des couples pouvait enfin être considérée ainsi que des demandes de plus en plus marginales nécessitant une réflexion à plusieurs. Pour cet aspect éthique, le centre a d’ailleurs été récompensé du prix Bernaerts en 2000, délivré par l’ULB à un centre qui se distingue par la qualité éthique de son travail d’équipe.

 

En 1998, le centre a reçu son agrément comme centre B, s’inscrivant dans la loi comme centre du réseau public de la région Bruxelloise. Devenant ainsi le centre de référence du réseau IRIS, des consultations ont été instaurées sur différents sites (Ixelles, Bracops, Brugmann). Le centre a également décentralisé son activité par des collaborations à Namur et surtout à Ath où aucun centre de PMA n’existait.

 

Le centre s’est doté d’une gestion informatique de pointe où l’ensemble des données des traitements est informatisé et accessible, pour les membres de l’équipe, online à tous les postes de ce travail pluridisciplinaire afin d’assurer la coordination et la continuité du traitement.

En 1997, la direction a été reprise par le Pr A Delvigne et ce jusqu’en 2007.


Début des années 2000, le centre a ouvert ses portes aux patients porteurs de maladies infectieuses et organisé une prise en charge spécifique (HIV, Hépatites B et C) de ceux-ci au sein d’une équipe pluridisciplinaire. Ce fut une activité pionnière en Belgique et le centre reste à cet égard une référence, en attestent ses collaborations avec de nombreux centres belges.

 

En 2003, les 20 ans de la première naissance du « bébé éprouvette » conçu au sein du centre ont fait l’objet d’une manifestation grand public de sensibilisation, ainsi que de conférences de professionnels qui ont rassemblé près de 200 personnes.

 

Depuis septembre 2007, la direction du centre est assurée par le Dr C Autin.

Le centre compte, 5 infirmières, 5 embryologistes et 2 secrétaires. Quatre médecins se partagent l’andrologie, l’infectiologie, l’endocrinologie et sont assistés de 2 chirurgiens gynécologiques pour la prise en charge de leurs patientes. Une psychologue et une psychiatre assurent l’encadrement des patientes avant, pendant et après leur traitement.

 

Le 2 Octobre 2008, le centre de PMA s’est vu attribuer le certificat de conformité à la norme ISO-9001 : 2000. Cette démarche volontaire de notre part a permis l’implantation d’un système de management de la qualité mondialement connu.

 

Suite à une nouvelle législation et ce depuis le 1 décembre 2009, le centre de PMA est inscrit comme banque de matériel corporel humain auprès de l’AFMPS (Agence Fédérale des Médicaments et des Produits de Santé). Actuellement, cet agrément est une obligation légale pour pouvoir exercer la médecine de la reproduction en Belgique.

 

Plan du site CHU Saint Pierre - Bâtiment 200, 5è étage . Département de Gynécologie-Obstétrique

Centre de Fécondation In vitro - 322, Rue Haute - Bruxelles Tel +32(0)2 535 3406 Fax +32(0)2 535 3409